In 1943, the Old Wooden Bridge Guest Cottages & Marina (formerly known as the Old Wooden Bridge Fishing Camp) on Big Pine Key Florida saw its first building. The camp was named for an old wooden bridge that used to tower above and which has now been replaced with concrete one. The original building still remains through numerous hurricanes - a true testament to early Keys-building techniques.
The camp was owned by the James R. Oettle family since the early 1950's. In 1958 six more cottages were added to provide accommodations for winter visitors to Big Pine Key. Mr. Oettle operated the camp for more than fifty years, with many die-hard fishermen and divers returning year after year. In December of 2001, Mr. Oettle sold the property to a group of Keys-loving, dedicated individuals - many of whom had been visiting the camp for years. Today, the property consists of 14 rental units, a store, marina and fuel dock located on 5.14 acres on the shoreline of the Bogie Channel.
The Old Wooden Bridge Guest Cottages has a very long history in terms of Keys resorts. People have been coming back for years and their children follow.
1791 Bogie Drive
Big Pine Key, FL 33043